pitchfork news

Metropolitan to Release Second Album

Catherine Lewis reports:
Arlington, Virginia-based noise rock trio Metropolitan are releasing their second album, Down for You Is Up, on Crank Automotive on March 12th. Metropolitan's members-- founding guitarist/vocalist John Masters, drummer Saadat Awan, and bassist Shyam Telikicherla-- pull from influences such as Sonic Youth and Spacemen 3.

Down for You Is Up is the follow-up to 1999's Side Effects and a 2001 split seven-inch with fellow Arlington rockers Calibos. The CD will also include a Quicktime track of the video for the first single, "Westmoreland," directed by Jim Cricchi (director of the indie film Gasoline Rainbows) and Crank Automotive head Marc Masters. The record was produced by Chad Clark (Fugazi, Dismemberment Plan) at Inner Ear Studios. Metropolitan, who have shared the stage with such bands as Bis and the Dismemberment Plan, are planning a tour for the spring and summer of 2002.

01 Westmoreland
02 Slide Rule
03 They Meet
04 Brightside
05 Girl from Montpelier
06 The Chase
07 You Want It
08 The Explosion
09 Long Distance Dedication
10 The Escape
11 This Real
12 Incidental
13 The Dust
14 Wet Cigarette

.: Metropolitan:
.: Crank Automotive:
.: Originally published: 31 January 2002
.: Items mentioned above on Down For You Is Up (Metropolitan, 2002); Side Effects (Metropolitan, 1999).