pitchfork news

Lamb to Eventually Release Third Album

Catherine Lewis reports:
British trip-hoppers Lamb are back in action with their third full-length album What Sound?, which was released in October in the UK. The album features eleven tracks (maybe-- there are rumblings of a hidden track on the forthcoming U.S. version).

The group, a collaboration between producer Andy Barlow and vocalist Louise Rhodes, nearly parted ways at the conclusion of their last tour, in support of 1999's Fear of Fours. However, they were able to patch things up by taking a different approach to creating What Sound?-- instead of doing everything themselves, as on Fear of Fours and their 1997 self-titled debut, they brought in Guy Sigsworth (Björk's arranger) to co-produce the album. Guitarist Jimi Goodwin (Doves), Michael Franti (Spearhead), Me'Shell Ndegeocello, the UK duo Scratch Perverts, and Arto Lindsay also check in. Tracklist:

01 What Sound
02 One
03 Sweet
04 I Cry
05 Scratch Bass
06 Heaven
07 Small
08 Written
09 Gabriel
10 Sweetheart
11 Just Is

Lamb are still firming up a US release date for What Sound?, but for those of you overseas, Lamb will be playing a few shows this spring. Tour dates:

03-13 Coimbra, Portugal - Pavihao University
03-14 Oporto, Portugal - Coliseum
03-15 Lisbon, Portugal - Coliseum
04-03 Glasgow, Scotland - QMC
04-04 Sheffield, UK - Leadmill
04-05 London, UK - Brixton Academy
05-24 Amsterdam, Holland - de Kopvan het Java Eiland (Drum Rhythm Festival)

.: Pitchfork Review: Lamb: Fear of Fours
.: Lamb:
.: Originally published: 11 February 2002
.: Items mentioned above on What Sound? (Lamb, 2002); Fear of Fours (Lamb, 1999); Lamb (Lamb, 1997).