pitchfork news

Reindeer Section Gets Bigger for New LP

Catherine Lewis reports:
Gary Lightbody of Snow Patrol has gathered up even more friends to join him in his Reindeer Section for a second album, Son of Evil Reindeer.

Last year's Y'all Get Scared Now Ya Hear! featured members of Mogwai (John Cummings), Arab Strap (Aidan Moffat), Belle & Sebastian (Richard Colburn, Mick Cooke, Bob Kildea), Astrid, and others. This year's lineup is expanded to include a total of 27 musicians, including folks from Teenage Fanclub (Norman Blake), Idlewild (Roddy Woomble), the Vaselines (Eugene Kelly), plus other members of Arab Strap (Malcolm Middleton and Colin MacPherson).

This Scottish supergroup will be releasing a single, "You Are My Joy," on Bright Star Recordings June 10th before Son of Evil Reindeer comes out on the 24th, on Bright Star (UK) and Pias America (U.S.). Tracklist:

01 Grand Parade
02 Budapest
03 Strike Me Down
04 Your Sweet Voice
05 I'll Be Here When You Wake
06 Where I Fall
07 Cartwheels
08 Last Song on the Blue Tape
09 Cold Water
10 You Are My Joy
11 Who Told You
12 Whodunnit?

In addition, The Reindeer Section will be playing the Summer Sonic Festival in Japan on August 18th (Tokyo) and 19th (Osaka), along with Morrissey, the Hives, Suede, and others. No word yet on how many of the 'Section members will be travelling to the Far East for those shows, but it may be enough to warrant a charter plane!

.: Pitchfork Review: Reindeer Section: Y'all Get Scared Now, Ya Hear!
.: The Reindeer Section:
.: Bright Star:
.: Pias:
.: Originally published: 18 June 2002
.: Items mentioned above on Y'all Get Scared Now Ya Hear! (The Reindeer Section, 2001); Son of Evil Reindeer (The Reindeer Section, 2002).